opusdei.org

Ordination of 27 New Deacons

27 faithful of the Prelature will be ordained deacons on October 31 in Rome. The future priests include a Kenyan, two Americans, and a Filipino.

10/25/2015

The ceremony will take place at 4 pm (Rome time) in the basilica of St. Eugene's.

Bishop Javier Echeverría, Prelate of Opus Dei, will confer the diaconal ordination. The candidates, who come from 13 countries, are all faithful of the Prelature of Opus Dei.

The ordination ceremony will not be broadcast live on this website. The new deacons will be ordained priests on April 23, 2016, in a ceremony that will be live-streamed on the Opus Dei website.

Here are the candidates, in order of age, and their countries of origin:

Alfredo Rodríguez Sedano (Spain)

José María Pérez-Seoane Mazzuchelli (Spain)

Vincenzo Arborea (Italy)

Fernando Hernansanz Serrano (Spain)

Odon Swamotz Wazaka (Congo)

Carlos Iza García (Russia)

Luis Cruz Ortiz de Landázuri (Spain)

Alejandro Muñoz Vizcaíno (Spain)

Mario Medina Rodríguez (Spain)

Michael Nievales Quilantang (Philippines)

José Omar Espíritu Castro (Mexico)

Manuel Valdés Mas (Spain)

Julio Agustín Sánchez León (Costa Rica)

Francisco Javier Córcoles García (Spain)

Agustín Pablo González Alonso (Spain)

Juan Cruz Bustillo (Argentina)

Manuel Valentini Colomer (Chile)

Albert Penella Mas (Spain)

Javier Aranguren Sánchez-Ostiz (Spain) Guillermo Arregui Cussi (Mexico) John Paul Mitchell (United States) KalleOskariJuurikkala (Finland) Gonzalo de la Morena Barrio (Spain) Marcelo José Monteiro (Brazil) Martin Abonyo Onyango (Kenya) Michael Joseph Fagan (United States) José Antonio Cordero Becker (Chile)

pdf | document generated automatically from https://opusdei.org/ <u>en-us/article/27-new-deacons/</u> (06/23/2025)