32 New Deacons, from 14 Countries

On Saturday November 8, Bishop Javier Echevarría will ordain 32 new deacons, in St. Eugene's Basilica in Rome.

Recent News
Opus Dei - 32 New Deacons, from 14 Countries

The future deacons, who will be ordained priests in 6 months time, come from 14 countries: Spain, Poland, Ecuador, United States, Nigeria, Mexico, Taiwan, Kenya, Brazil, Guatemala, Colombia, Austria and Argentina.

Lay faithful of Opus Dei who have spent some years working professionally, they will now receive at the Prelate's hands, after having finished the required studies, this ordination that configures them with Christ, the servant of all men and women.

The oldest of the future priests is the Brazilian Paulo Oriente, 52 years old, who has spent many years as a law professor in São Paulo, Brazil. The youngest is James Mwara Njunge from Kenya, who is 28.

Two brothers will also be ordained, Alex and Carles Ayxelá, from Girona, Spain.

There will be no live transmission via the internet.

Their names and countries are:

Paulo Oriente Franciulli (Brazil)

José Luis Parrado Frade (Spain)

Alejandro Vázquez-Dodero Rodríguez (Spain)

Alejandro Baños Atance (Spain)

Jeffrey Joseph Langan (U.S.)

Juan Carlos Vásconez Donoso (Ecuador)

Jordi Pujol Soler (Spain)

Miguel Díez López (Spain)

Rafael Cabrera González (Spain)

Alejandro Ayxelá Frigola (Spain)

Jorge Mario Jaramillo Echeverry (Colombia)

Federico María López Navarro (Spain)

Javier Ibáñez Vial (Chile)

José María Rincón Fernández (Spain)

José Enrique De Castro y Manglano (Spain)

Jesús María Corcuera Canflanca (Spain)

Juan Martín Aguado (Spain)

Carlos Ayxelá Frigola (Spain)

Miguel Ángel Bravo Gutiérrez (Mexico)

Rafael Bartolomé Castilla (Spain)

Juan Gabriel Irarrázaval Armendáriz (Chile)

Rafael García Arenillas (Spain)

Agapitus Tobechukwu Okoye (Nigeria)

Ifeanyi Sylvester Ogboh (Nigeria)

Mauricio Shiaw-Tsu Liu Roqueñi (Taiwan)

Thomas Kenner (Austria)

Wojciech Woźny (Poland)

Jesús Fernández Vicente (Spain)

Stanisław Urmański (Poland)

Mauricio Fabián Ballesteros Casas (Argentina)

Carlos Luis Páez Lucero (Guatemala)

James Mwaura Njunge (Kenya)